Talkin’ Turkey


From time to time I’ve reported on my experiments in crock pot cookery. This weekend, I may have had my biggest success yet. I’m president of the local Praesidium (chapter) of The Legion of Mary, and every year all the praesidia in a given jurisdiction (known as a Curia) get together on a Marian feast day for a ceremony known as the Acies. Our curia holds its Acies on the Saturday nearest the Feast of the Annunciation. There’s a Mass followed by a covered dish supper. It’s a wonderful opportunity to share faith, food, and fellowship. This year, I got really brave and decided to try a turkey breast recipe I found and bring it along. It must have been a success because one of my fellow legionaries asked for the recipe, so I thought I’d share it. This recipe for “Easy and Delicious Turkey Breast” really does live up to its name! I got it from The Fix It and Forget It Cookbook: Feasting with Your Slow Cooker, by Dawn J. Ranck and Phyllis Pellman Good. (p. 196).

Easy and Delicious Turkey Breast
(submitted by Gail Bush of Landenberg, PA)

1 turkey breast

15 oz. can whole berry cranberry sauce

1 envelope dry onion soup mix

1/2 cup orange juice

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. pepper

1. Place turkey in slow cooker.

2. Combine remaining ingredients. Pour over turkey.

3. Cover. Cook on LOW 6-8 hours.

That’s all there is to it! You should have a lot of sauce that will keep the turkey moist. I’d recommend serving this with rice or mashed potatoes or even thick slices of bread. Hope you enjoy it!

One thought on “Talkin’ Turkey

Leave a Reply

